Tim Floyd’s resignation letter

Tim Floyd submitted his resignation to USC yesterday. Below is the actual resignation letter. 

(His first draft included the text in red.)

 

USC: 

As of 1 p.m. today, — I wanted to get one last free lunch in the dining hall! — I am resigning as head basketball coach at the University of Southern California. I deeply appreciate the opportunity afforded me by the university, as well as the chance to know and work with some of the finest young men in college athletics. (Err … I mean “some of the finest young STUDENT-athletes.” LOL!) 

 Unfortunately, I no longer feel I can offer the level of enthusiasm to my duties nor the level of financial support to my recruits that is deserved by the university, my coaching staff, my players, their families, their agents and g0-betweens and the supporters of Southern Cal. I always promised my self and my family that if I ever felt I could no longer give my full enthusiasm to a job, that I should leave it to others who could. I am just sorry I left after USC could have lured John Calipari here. Perhaps Jerry Tarkanian wants a coaching job again? I intend to contact my coaching staff and my players in coming days and weeks to tell them how much each of them means to me. (Those I like the best, I’ll contact in days; Those I couldn’t give a sh!t about, weeks.) I wish the best to USC and to my successor. Sorry for the upcoming NCAA sanctions! My bad.

Tim Floyd

One response to “Tim Floyd’s resignation letter

  1. In keeping with this week’s Sportspickle theme, it sure is nice to see Tim Floyd take a dump on another college program. Iowa State is still trying to recover ten years later. That’s some big, stinky poo.

Leave a Reply

