Umm … you know we know you cheated, right?

Mark McGwire spent his winter working as a hitting instructor. He talked about the experience to the New York Times.

“I very rarely talked about my swing when I played,” McGwire said.

“I had a lot of secrets when I played, actually.”

“Really, not that many people asked.”

“Most likely because I was a career .263 hitter. And also  someone who rarely hit above the .230s when I wasn’t on steroids.”

“It’s really interesting to try to talk about it with hitters. It was so enlightening to work with the guys over the winter and see how their minds work. It was neat when you can see the light bulb go off.”

“Like: ‘Oh! So that‘s where I inject the steroids!”

“I think all athletes have that God-given ability,” said McGwire, who is now 45. “What goes behind it is the work ethic. It’s all about improving yourself throughout your career and not being satisfied with one or two good years.”

“Too many young players today aren’t willing to put in super-human workouts, as they are unable to — you know, what with not taking steroids, so they don’t have the energy to spend 16 hours a day in the gym. And even those who do take steroids, after a few years they are prone to getting overconfident or mindful of not dying and they’ll get off the ‘roids. But there are no shortcuts. Only the great ones are willing to cheat year after year after year.”

“You walk up and it’s Mark McGwire, of all guys, teaching you how to hit,” Schumaker said last week. “You think he’s just so big and strong and that’s why he hit home runs. But he really knew what he was doing at the plate.”

“Steroids don’t make a great home run hitter. No, there’s more to it than that. I mean, how many home runs did Arnold Schwarzenegger ever hit? It’s not all about muscles. You also have to know what you are doing at the plate. You have to know that you need to take that big, wooden, stick thing up to the plate with you to swing at the white ball.”

“Being around my 5- and 6-year-old boys is such a thrill,” [McGwire] said, adding: “Right now it’s not about me anymore. It’s about my family. When I played baseball, it was about me. It was about me wearing blinders like a horse.”

“I wore blinders like I was a horse. And I took steroids like I was cattle.”

Leave a Reply

